image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

That...Frankly Will not Fly
2003-08-18 � 12:32 p.m.

I am SO tired...

I'm at that stage where I can feel the bags beneath my eyes.

YES!

BAGS...BENEATH MY EYES!

The weekend was long and not at all restful. It might have been, but I squandered my one day off. I am scrambling about trying to get things ready for Burning Man (and yet again stocking up a healthy amount of resentment about my roommate's complete and utter DISREGARD of the effort it takes to get ready). But when things get to be crazy, or the bitterness wells up inside me, I just picture the playa, and all becomes smooth and beautiful again.

(I am such a dork.)

So anyway, the reason I am tired is because I didn't get any rest this weekend. I should have had all of yesterday off, but I didn't make it to McMinnville on Staurday because I stayed up too late on Friday. Why did I do that, you ask?

Well, I went to a show with George, the owner of The Bonfire(Menomena, for those that care — very good), and afterwards we went back to the bar. I then proceeded to get into a FIGHT with George, lasting until about five in the morning. The fight was over how a problem employee should be handled. I still think George is setting himself up for some real problems down the road because of the way he is choosing to deal with this, but as I told him the next day when I apologized, it's really none of my business.

So that shot Saturday, because I needed to sleep. I woke up feeling sick and gross because I slept during the day in the heat, and it took nearly the rest of the time before I had to go to work before I recovered. A good thing I did though, because the bar was SUPER busy, and we all worked really hard. Hell, I had to deliver food and do other things that I have never had to do before, that's how busy it was.

So I got home at about four a.m., got up at ten and headed for M-town for more B-Man prep. That all went pretty well, and now I think I have all the big things done. But my parents' computer is messed up, so I had to drag it back to Portland with me, and I didn't get to bed until after one last night because I was trying to fix it.

(Still not fixed, by the way. Windows XP has suddenly decided that it doesn't like the modem the machine has in it. Don't ask me, I just work here.)

Now I am at the Day Job, and I have been doing work, but I've also been doing Lists. Lists of things to Get Ready.

I know that none of this is exciting to anyone (hey, not even to me), but it has to be said. Oh, okay, it doesn't, but whatever. I'm scrambled.

One cool thing has happened — I spoke to the Glorious Vex, so I know that she is real and still subscribing to this mad plan of riding with me to Burning Man. I tried to warn her, but she wouldn't listen. I hope she doesn't hate me by the time this is all over.

I'm starved, but I have no opportunity to procure food, so I suppose I will just tough it out.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing:
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI