image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Werk Blar Eyestab
2003-08-22 � 12:43 p.m.

"I am thinking it's a sign that the freckles in our eyes are mirror images and when we kiss they're perfectly aligned."

What craziness that randomly plagues my life would you like me to talk about today? Should I discuss the WERK blar that makes me want to go *eyestab* *eyestab* *eyestab*? Or should I talk about the getting ready to go the desert frenzy that is making me wake up in the middle of the night with the sweaty panting and gasping? Or maybe I should give a brief synopsis of the social drama that has me having to figure out a way to get out of a DATE with my friend's ex? *eyestab*

"Smeared black ink � your palms are sweaty, and I'm barely listening (to last demands). I'm staring at the asphalt wondering what's buried underneath..."

WERK blar: so, I have this job, right? It's interesting, I suppose. But the trick of it is that I applied to do one, was hired to do another, and have had extra duties piled on top of me since I started. I currently have five � count them, FIVE! � bosses. If my TPS reports have a problem...

But anyway, the straw what broke this camel rolled down the little pike of my life yesterday to land squarely on my neck. The business is currently in the midst of relocating to a new location, and so I kind of belong to all departments and none, I was given a choice of two locations to sit in. You'd think that would be a reward, right? I thought so.

Everyone was kind of subtly advocating that I sit up front with the Marketing people, since that's the group I have been sitting with. That was fine, Marketing is fine. So I said sure...

Yesterday, the main boss of all my bosses revealed to me...well, I will just PASTE it here, since she was kind enough to communicate this bad news via IM:

BIGBOSS1: so,
BIGBOSS1: next
BIGBOSS1: remember how we agreed to put you with the mkt people?

temek: Yes?

BIGBOSS1: up in area 6?
BIGBOSS1: we're still gonna do that!
BIGBOSS1: yay, lucky you.
BIGBOSS1: But there's a small catch.
BIGBOSS1: :)

temek: I figured. Which is?

BIGBOSS1: SOMEONE
BIGBOSS1: has to be closest to the entrance.
BIGBOSS1: I mean, someone has to.
BIGBOSS1: It's just logic.
BIGBOSS1: We can't afford a receptionist.

temek: Yes.

BIGBOSS1: Guess who is going to be closest to the entrance?
BIGBOSS1: And say hello to people when they stumble in?
BIGBOSS1: :)
BIGBOSS1: Hmmm?

temek: I'm guessing...NOT Tony, Noah or Tom.

BIGBOSS1: Good guess.

Hooray! I am now a RECEPTIONIST. And a Customer Support Rep. And an Associate Liaison. And a merchandising drone. And I'm sure that when Christmas gets a little closer, I'll be out in the warehouse packing fucking boxes. How long before I have to start cleaning the bathrooms and bringing people coffee?

What do I get paid? NOTHING. Well, very little. Not enough, anyway.

*eyestab*!!!

Only a few more hours, and then I get to be gone for a week...

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: The Postal Service, "We Will Become Silhouettes"
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "I'm screaming at the top of my lungs pretending the echoes belong to someone I used to know."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI