image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Masculinity in Practice
2003-05-24 � 5:01 a.m.

Tonight was a very masculine evening, in different ways.

Firstly, I arrived at the Bonfire in order to deliver CDs and to see if I was slated to work the door for Saturday (and the answer, for those playing along at home, is "yes"), and Trevor grabbed me and proceeded to feed me booze and talk a red streak about this and that female present in the bar. Being who I am, I quickly tired of his bluster, and basically challenged him to put his money where his mouth was. Fast forward an hour, and see me urging him to follow a young lady out the door, and then see him return all grins and giggles and full of phone numbers.

(This is me doing good things.)

Now see the bar after hours, all closed up and with the "employees" (me among them, for whatever reason — they probably feel bad about kicking me out) sitting in the dark nursing drinks and relating stories of sexual conquest. This goes back and forth amongst them several times before I am addressed directly. Dimitri says, "Preston...what about you? What's the craziest thing that's ever happened to you?"

And five pairs of eyes came to rest on me, and I had nothing to say.

Zero, zilch, none. I don't have crazy stories to tell; I don't have normal, boring stories to tell.

I couldn't even muster enough presence to lie. I think I made them all super uncomfortable.

Bah. Being male is a lot harder than most non-males realize.

It well and truly sucks most of the time.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Goldfrapp, Tiptoe
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI