image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Spathi Boogie!
2003-05-08 � 8:49 a.m.

Firstly, let me give you all this, which I listened to this morning with a big old grin plastered across my face. It causes many instances of fond remembrance and has that bouncy, lo-fi, home-brew goodness of most early .MOD files. Truly beauteous and worth a listen. It is from a video game, but do not let this deter you! This video game had (has!) some of the best music ever produced.

Would EYE lie to EWE?

Reading xsaltyx's LiveJournal led me to the Yahoo Palm-Reading page, which had this to say about me (note the third item):

"You are intelligent and practical, very likely to have a good memory and the ability to make and follow plans. Leadership skills are among your useful traits.

"You are a warm hearted person, with much love to give. You probably like children, and exhibit many playful characteristics.

"There may be times in your life when you give in to feelings of sadness or depression.

"You are likely to make decisions based on intuition or feelings rather than intellect.

"You are naturally charming and inclined to be flirtatious.

"You have a basically strong constitution, and should enjoy good health most of the time.

"There is a strong intuitive side to your nature, which may border on psychic or mystical ability."

Not that I put much stock in palm-based divination. It's tealeaves all the way, baby.

Quandary: there is a wrapped gift on the table downstairs, card attached, meant for me. It has been there since Tuesday. It is from my roommate and is in "celebration" of my birthday.

The quandary is that I can't figure out how much of a weird, anti-social herky-jerky butthead I am being by not having unwrapped (and thus "accepted") said gift yet, what with my birthday now being in the past.

There are extenuating circumstances.

Firstly, though I was about most of the day of my birth, my roommate did not attempt to gift me this package until approximately three a.m., literally as I was walking into my room to go to sleep. I told him I just couldn't do it right then, and it was left at that.

Since then, I haven't really interacted with him except for a second or two in passing, and I really feel like he should be around for the actual, you know, gift unveiling. That's part of the procedure, right?

On the other hand, I hate my birthday and wish it would never, ever happen again and the trappings of it (gifts, phone calls, gatherings, etc.) make me ill, so if the gift went away and I never saw it or opened it that would be just fine with me and am I projecting this feeling and making my roommate feel resented and thereby adding my own new brand of weird into an already weird situation?

Plus I am so not a person who wants to appear to be eager to get "things" under any circumstances — I find the lusting after stuff, especially gifts, to be incredibly unseemly. So even though I desire for this situation to end, I could never, say, approach my roommate and suggest that now would be a good time for me to unwrap the gift.

Argh! I am such a neurotic ball of spineless fuzz!

How fooked up is this? Please tell me.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Sahara Hotnights, With or Without Control
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "With or without control, you've got to shake it off!"

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI