image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Pithy Quote Goes Here
2003-05-07 � 4:06 p.m.

But...you do rule. I know why it makes you uncomfortable to hear it, and I feel the same way for significantly different reasons, but...

The outlines of things are beautiful. Pared down, unfinished work is admirable. There is poetry in pain, and honesty is praiseworthy.

You know this.

I will try to curb my enthusiasm, but it's hard not to admire in you what I'd like to see in myself, someday. And while a mute audience is easier to take whilst fumbling about on stage, sometimes that fumbling is too much and can draw out cries.

To balance out what you consider to be unjustified compliments (pfff), let me advance the opinion that you are also wrong. This goal, to be impressive without taking into account where you started...that's just plain backwards.

There is no towering height without a foundation, and I personally believe that as humans our own foundations are impossible to escape. Whether you incorporate your past, ignore it or reject it, there it will be, looming to the fullest, today, now, in the present. And maybe you mean you can't escape your past, or that you're working hard to integrate your past so that you're more a whole unit than a series of disparate scenes out of history, and that's fine and admirable. But beware � ofttimes that process robs those scenes of the very things in them that are valuable.

But enough of that, for I well and truly don't know what I am talking about, and while I was once quite adroit at talking out of my ass, I try to do that less nowadays.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Harvey Danger, Wrecking Ball
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "Guard the dead against my legacy..."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI