image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Walk Through the Fire
2003-02-22 � 10:07 a.m.

I went to lunch with my boss yesterday. We went to a sushi place called Miho, and it was really good. Of course when is sushi not good, right? Right.

But they do this thing there (and maybe elsewhere, but I've never seen it before) called "Sushi Pizza." There's a bottom layer of seaweed covered by a layer of rice in a rectangle about four inches by two. On top of that they put this mix of fish and other seafood including crab and shrimp. Then on top of that they put this rich, creamy sauce and a bit of cheesey stuff on top of that. Then they bake it enough to get it warm and melt the stuff on top.

SO GOOD.

Seriously. It was almost as good as crack. Not that I'd know, because I would never do crack. But if I did, it would have to be as good as Sushi Pizza.

Then to top it all off, my boss paid for lunch! Hot damn. My Slack train is rolling!

Except then I had to stay at work late, and when all I wanted was to go home and eat something in peace while I watched Farscape, I arrived home to discover Company. I hate Company. I can't relax when there are visitors. Company overstayed its welcome, and then left us with sharp commentary about how boring we were.

Gosh. So sorry. Yeah, it's Friday night for you, buddy, but I have to work in the morning. Plus I'd just finished fifty hours of a sixty-hour week. I'm tired. I want to sit peacefully. I have no desire to get wiley and "party down." What do you expect when you just show up without calling ahead?

Luckily after that I discovered that "Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me" was showing on the Independant Film Channel, and so my roommate and I watched that. That was nice. I love that movie � it has some of the most amazing performances that I have ever seen in a film. For reals. We entertained some brief fantasies of reproducing "The Pink Room" from the Bang-Bang Bar as some kind of sleazy hangout at The Man, with that creepy slow rock playing in a continuous loop...that would be cool.

Now I'm at work and I have some things to do, but it's hard to get motivated.

Through the darkness of future past,
The Magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds:
"Fire Walk With Me."

Be good kids.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Sparta, Red Alibi
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "I tried everything...this will take everything. Everything."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI