image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

No Power
2003-02-20 � 2:07 p.m.

So I'm driving home last night around seven-thirty, and as I start to get closer to my house, I notice that it's unusually dark. I start to pay a little more attention, and I realize that there are no streetlights on. In fact, there are no lights on at all — on the street, in houses...nothing.

So I keep driving, and the closer I get to my house the more sure I am that we too will be without power. Yup. For a good five to ten square blocks around where I live there was no electricity.

So that put a damper on my plans to cook, vacuum and do assorted power-assisted things.

Instead I checked to make sure the freezer wasn't so far gone as to be in danger of flooding the kitchen, wandered around with a flashlight feeling like a prowler in my own home, and then I went to the bar.

What was I gonna do, sit alone in the dark?

There wasn't much going down at the bar, it being a Wednesday and all. George was there and put all my beer on his tab, which was cool. My roommate came down too when he arrived home to discover my note indicating my location.

So we got home around ten. Yay! Power! Time to reset all the clocks.

Only I'm a freaking DORK and I set my bedside alarm clock WRONG. Yes, I set it twelve hours off. So I had a bit of a time getting to work this morning.

Dork, dork, dork!

In other news, Batwang has invaded my guestbook. Batwang is my ex-roommate Bil, now woefully ensconced in Norfolk. Apparently since we weren't home to take the call last night Bil felt compelled to leave face-reddening praise heaped in my guestbook. Thanks, Bil. Back at'cha.

Works sucks.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Le Tigre, Hot Topic
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "Hot topic is the way that we rhyme..."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI