image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Lutefisk!
2002-11-16 � 10:43 a.m.

Just because I can't see it enough, here once again is Dancing GIR:

I apologize. I am High on Zim. I realize that I am a late comer to the wonders that are Invader Zim, but it bothers me not a zot to be one of those people who squint their eyes and say, "Hey...over there. Do you see that? It's a Bandwagon, and it's almost over the horizon! If I hurry, I can get on that thing..."

Especially for something as delicious as Zim.

Tonight is Charmparticles. Hopefully my sister will come with me, and we can hang out. That would make it a family fun-filled day, because this evening is the annual Sons of Norway Lutefisk Dinner with my dad and aunt. Woo hoo!

(Just for those of you poor benighted fools who may not be of the clearly superior Scandinavian descent, lutefisk is a dried cod that has been soaked in lye and then boiled. When finished, it has a slightly firmer consistency than jello. You eat it slathered in melted butter and, if you're feeling cocky, some salt and pepper. It probably sounds gross...but it isn't. Really. No, really!)

I love the Sons of Norway Lutefisk Dinner. You sit at gigantic communal tables with a host of old Swedes and Norwegians, and they all talk about growing up in North and South Dakota, or coming to America from the Old Country when they were very small...it's cool. It gives me a weird connection to some sort of heritage (an idea of I would have scoffed at even a few years ago).

The first time we went, my dad asked me to go because my aunt had gotten too many tickets and they needed a warm body. I went, I had a great time. But I surprised my dad when I asked him when the next one was -- I think he figured I wouldn't want to go again. Now it's a small tradition, and I am quite pleased and excited to participate in it.

But now I am at work. Despite my recurrent absences throughout the week due to waxing and waning flu-like symptoms, there is remarkably little work for me to do here. Isn't that always the way? When I'm here, it's like the building's on fire and the world might end at any moment...but when I'm gone, things just seem to float along. I guess it could be worse -- it could be the other way 'round.

Mmmmm...lutefisk.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing:
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI