image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Brimful of Action (not)
2002-11-05 � 9:49 a.m.

I've got that Cornershop song "Brimful of Asha" stuck in my head, which is odd because I know I haven't heard that song in years. Or have I? That's right! Cornershop is just the latest band to be incorporated into advertising campaigns. Gag. Not that I was some sort of huge Cornershop fan or anything -- I'm just saying. Seems like every time a commercial comes on, I choke on something. I mean c'mon -- Placebo in a car commercial?!?

I'm almost happier when things work the other way. Like that Dirty Vegas song that Mitsubishi used. Those guys didn't even have a record out when that commercial started airing, but they do now. (I did think it was kind of cheap that they had the Mitsubishi Eclipse in the video, but at least it was mildly subtle.)

I smell like pumpkins, and I can't figure out why. To my knowledge I have not eaten or even come into contact with anything remotely resembling a pumpkin in years.

(A time out here for me to do a little happy dance: The Dismemberment Plan is tomorrow! *Dance* *Dance*)

Lunch with Lusha today. ("Lunch with Lusha" -- that sounds like the name of some sort of radio call-in show, doesn't it?). I haven't seen her in a long time, and the last time was when I ran into her at a show, so it was brief and consisted mainly of yelling at each other. I'm kind of nervous. Lusha...really likes me. Not like romantically or anything. She just unabashedly, unashamedly thinks I'm a neat person. It makes me nervous because I don't really agree. She, however, is a force -- one doesn't disagree with Lusha and get away with it unchallenged. Heh. Should be interesting.

I was a layabout yesterday. I didn't write a damn thing for the Project. Woe! I sux0rz. Shoot me now, for I output unremitting crapola.

I did watch Mulholland Drive again last night -- wow. David Lynch kicks my puny little ass...I love him. I still don't have a clue what the hell was really going on in the film, but my conviction that it doesn't really matter was vigorously reinforced. I lament the fact that the actual television show was never made though -- it has all the bits present for it to have rivaled Twin Peaks (which, for me, is like saying "Yeah, this Dianetics thing? It could be the new Bible."). Twin Peaks is...amazing. I won't get started on it, because if I do, I won't stop.

I'm at work now...it is boring here. All of the things I have to do are remarkably unpleasant and, unfortunately, long-term -- which means that I can get away with ignoring them.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Nothing -- I'm falling down on the job here, aren't I?
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI