image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Typical Set of Problems
2004-01-19 � 3:40 p.m.

So, there's this girl.

(It always starts like that doesn't it? That, or a variation. Boy, girl, farm animal...)

And that woud be fine, if there was a girl. But it's never that simple. This is, after all, my life we're discussing here. No, it has to be complicated. It has to be difficult. It has to involve pain and suffering for a plurality of the population.

(And people wonder why I am so tired of living my life.)

So, there's this girl. I think she is keen. I would like to spend some time with her, I think.

But.

(A lovely word, that. The "but." So ominous.)

There's this other girl. Who is my friend. We hang out. Quite often, I guess. Which is fine. Which is good, actually — she is my friend, I enjoy her company.

But, you know, I don't feel that way about her. And I probably never will. This doesn't bother me. I don't think that it bothers her.

But.

(Oooh...again with the "but." Things are getting very serious now.)

But I don't know that. My instinct tells me that this friend of mine couldn't possibly be spending the amount of time with me that she does unless, well...unless she was at least mildly entertaining the option. You dig? I haven't ever gotten "the vibe" off of her, BUT.

So why is this a problem, you ask?

Well, because the NEW girl, the girl whom I think is keen, is a friend of my friend. It is, in fact, how I met her to begin with. This creates...all sorts of problems.

(Sigh.)

How can I...figure anything out? I'm going to have to talk to my friend about it, I guess. That just about makes my stomach turn over. No, not "just about" — it does make my stomach turn over.

(Either that, or I am really hungry.)

Then there are all the other social oddities I had to wade through over the weekend. It was quite the busy, busy time for YT, brothers and sisters. I may never fully recover.

I go now in search of Mountain Dew.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing:
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI