image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

The Ice Storm
2004-01-08 � 5:06 p.m.

This is the third day I haven't had to go to work because of the weather. Things here in the NorthWest (for those few of you aren't in the NorthWest) are, to put it bluntly, fuX0r3d.

I ventured out today with my roommates and it was nuts. Ice, ice, everywhere. We slipt and slid to the bus, which took us close enough for us to slip and slide to the nearest Game Spot where my roommate had reserved a copy of Mario Kart Double Dash. A quick stop into the grocery store and then home. We didn't travel more than a half mile, even round trip, but it took us several hours.

Nuts.

People in the NW just aren't used to this kind of weather. It rarely even snows here in Portland, let alone snows and then freezes on top of it. We had a frozen pipe on Tuesday! (It's all thawed now, but the water is dripping constantly to prevent re-freezing).

I don't see how I'm even going to get to work tomorrow, let alone make to the bar to work the door. Or back from there at four a.m. Gah.

Snow and ice, go away! Never come again! I hate you!

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Basement Jaxx, Lucky Star
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: beats me

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI