image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Werkin' for a Living
2003-06-27 � 9:15 a.m.

Some brief words on...stuff. Yeah, stuff. And maybe a little Friday Five?

Work yesterday was interesting. For the first time in a long time, I am not the oddest person in the workplace, though this is so far based purely on physical appearance. I think I'll still win once everyone gets to know me — I mean, blue hair is just so two years ago. It's the mental scarring that does it, you know.

Yesterday was pretty basic, and so pretty boring. It was easy though. I basically used their crummy email system to answer questions from fool customers. They forgot to have me sign an NDA, so that means I can tell you all that the company I work for runs some major retail sites on the web — the HBO store, for one. So yesterday was basically telling stupid person A that if they would actually READ THE WEBSITE, they would see that yes, the Sopranos shirt does come in an extra large, but that it is backordered and will not ship immediately and telling stupid person B that no, we cannot ship VIZ manga to New Zealand because when the website says "No International Orders" it really means "No International Orders."

I am frightened, however, because everyone seems to think I am some sort of genius prodigy who is only there to slum. This worries me, because they seem to believe that I'll be picking stuff up at some sort of incredible rate and that I will be completely proficient in a record amount of time.

Yikes!

That's just kinda intimidating.

In other news, Buffy the Vampire Slayer for the Xbork is hard. That snake woman is kicking my ass! I know some people would pay good money to have a snake woman kicking their ass, but I am not one of them.

The Friday Five!

1. How are you planning to spend the summer?

Werkin'. And burning, by the end. It's basically July, you know, which means that preparations begin in earnest!

2. What was your first summer job?

You're going to love this, it's like the most perfect first job ever: I worked at a landfill! Yes, I worked at the dump. Doing what? Picking up trash. Yeah, I learned the futility of work early. I was fired from that job. I just couldn't get inspired.

3. If you could go anywhere this summer, where would you go?

I'm going to the only place I want to go — Black Rock City.

4. What was your worst vacation ever?

I spent Christmas in Palm Springs with my family one year, and that sucked pretty damn bad. Palm Springs is about the most soulless place in the entire world, and that's including Las Vegas. At least Vegas has that aura of desperation to it. Palm Springs is like some sanitized, gigantic old folks' home. *Shudder*. But, two days after we got back, I went to Egypt for a month, so that was cool.

5. What was your best vacation ever?

Me and three friends took a road trip from Oregon to San Francisco one summer, and we did a bunch of stupid things to ourselves and then went to amusement parks to ride rollercoasters. That was a freaking blast. Good times.

I'm off to see some sort of wizard now, so keep it real, y'alls.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing:
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI