image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

It's not the turkey I'm looking forward to...
2002-11-26 � 8:31 a.m.

Bryan's coming home from NYC for Thanksgiving. This will be good -- I've been missing the fellow. We trade email and everything (sporadically, because I am a terrible correspondent) but it isn't quite the same.

Bryan's an interesting friend. He was my freshman year college roommate. We were paired up by the University out of a pool of hundreds and here we are, years later, still good friends. Or friends at all, actually. Pretty impressive. I'd say it spoke well of the University's system for assigning roommates, but I've actually seen the other people they put together, and it was rarely as...uh, congenial a situation as between Bryan and I.

So yeah -- Bryan's gonna be in town, and we're gonna go see My Regrets, because they haven't played a show since Halloween, and I missed that one. Bryan's a fan too -- we were both out at a bar with our friend Pat one night with no particular plans when the Regrets got up and started to play.

Not expecting anything like a cranked-up rock and roll show and having one fall into your lap kind of tends to convert you to a fan really quick.

I'm looking forward to it. I'm hoping my sister will come out with us. That would be cool.


I'm kind of in a Brust-ian mood the last couple of days. I apologize...but now I'm quoting some more.

Kragar says that life is like an onion, but he doesn't mean the same thing by it that I do.

He talks about peeling it, and how you can go deeper and deeper, until finally you get to the center and nothing is there. I suppose there's truth in that, but in the years when my father ran a restaurant, I never peeled an onion, I chopped them; Kragar's analogy doesn't do much for me.

When I say that life is like an onion, I mean this: if you don't do anything with it, it goes rotten. So far, that's no different from other vegetables. But when an onion goes bad, it can do it from either the inside, or the outside. So sometimes you get one that looks good, but the core is rotten. Other times, you can see a bad spot on it, but if you cut that out, the rest is fine. Tastes sharp, but that's what you paid for, isn't it?

I hope my core isn't rotten, but I have some strong suspicions.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Thursday, Paris in Flames
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "After the things you say, you hit me for being this way?"

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI