image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Tired Now
2002-11-02 � 4:40 p.m.

This is how much of a geek I am.

Instead of worrying about my stupid novel (boy, does it feel weird to say that) -- what's gonna happen when, how will I manage this or that bit, etc. -- I find myself sitting here and wondering if there's a way I could tunnel Samba between my machines here and the ones at home so that I wouldn't need to carry my novel around on a disk or copy it back and forth via FTP (which takes all of a second).

Shew. I need help.

I'm up to almost five thousand words on the book. Er, novel. Whatever. It sounds pretentious to call it anything like that. Maybe I should just call it a "project." That seems more likely.

So yeah -- five thousand words. I can't tell if that's a lot or not. I mean, I've written more before, obviously. I guess I'm trying to guess where my threshold will be. I kind of thought it was going to be at the beginning, though in hindsight that was foolish. I've got umpteen bits of stuff lying around that I started just fine. Maybe I thought it would be different because I knew ahead of time how big a project this is, and it would therefore be more likely for me to bow out early. But now I don't know. I'm kind of burned out for right now, but I can see myself doing a bit more work on it this evening.

But the threshold is out there somewhere, ahead of me still. It's getting past that point that I'm worried about. I know myself well enough to know that it's going to be hard to keep going once I hit that wall, wherever it is.

Whoa. I think I just hit the exhaustion wall.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: n/a
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: n/a

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI