image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Mish-Mash
2002-10-31 � 5:25 p.m.

Jumble mumble, mish-mash wish-wash.

Where to start? I have nothing really interesting to say, but I do have things that I want to say. Now you're stuck hearing them.

It's All Hallows Eve -- I have no plans, excepting perhaps heading to Tiger Bar to see My Regrets (where will they put the band?). I do, however, have a costume. I am going to be "80s Movie Background Character." Yes I am. Intriguing, no?

I scored these wicked pants that have that really high waist that sticks up above the belt loops like an inch or two, and only fits those super-skinny belts. Those pants, a funky button-down shirt with the sleeves rolled up to the middle of the forearm, thin suspenders and some Chuck T's with the pant cuffs turned up to show them off and I'm set to get my groove on in the background of the climactic scene at the dance! Yes that's me: background color while the main characters either make-up and kiss or stare deeply into each others' eyes right in front of the camera.

This role suits me.

My fear is that someone (anyone) will assume that that's just the way I always dress. I do see people clothed that way from time to time. To me it's a costume -- to them it's a wardrobe.


I'm trying something new lately. I'm reading more than one book at a time. Usually, I just pour through a single volume before moving on to the next and the next and the next, but I was finding that by doing so I was limiting my reading choices.

Because, see, I always need to be reading fiction. I guess I don't have to be...but I want to be. I love it. I've been reading a couple of books a week minimum since about second grade, and it freaks me out when I'm not reading something with an actual story.

So I decided that the answer to that was to load up on books and try to spread myself between them. It's kind of working. Kind of.

Here is my current reading list:

Pretty impressive, huh? Not really. But it does make me want to quote from American Gods, just because I can. I'm not sure why this passage grabbed me this morning while I was eating breakfast, but it did, and now you will be subjected to it too.

Several local men and women came walking over the meadows, their bodies moving in unfamiliar ways: their voices, when they spoke, were the voices of the Loa who rode them: a tall black man spoke in the voice of Papa Legba who opens the gates; while Baron Samedi, the voudon lord of death, had taken over the body of a teenage goth girl from Chattanooga, possibly because she possessed her own black silk top hat, which sat on her dark hair at a jaunty angle. She spoke in the Baron's own deep voice, smoked a cigar of enormous size, and commanded three of the Gede, the Loa of the dead. The Gede inhabited the bodies of three middle-aged brothers. They carried shotguns and told jokes of such astounding filthiness that only they were willing to laugh at them, which they did, raucously.

Gaiman's a stud.


Okay -- I've been sitting on this thing for hours waiting for the internet connection here at work to quit being a flaky beast, and now I can finally share all this glorious bullshit with you.

Go me.

Toodles.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: n/a
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: n/a

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI