image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

It's Friday, and there are Five Things...
2003-07-11 � 3:37 p.m.

The lovely, the amazing...Friday Five:

1. Do you remember your first best friend? Who was it?

Of course I do. You'd have to be a pretty sad sack to not remember your first best friend, now wouldn't you? I mean forgetting the first time you beat up the neighbor kid, or the first small animal you captured and tortured to death over the course of several days, that understandable...but your first best friend?!? Come now.

My first best friend was Matt Probasco. He was the oldest son of some friends of my parents, so we were thrust together at a fairly early age. Matt ruled — I considred him to be my best friend until about fifth grade, even though I was pretty seriously hanging out with Josh, a kid from up the hill, by that time.

2. Are you still in touch with this person?

Unfortunately no. Though we would have gone to both middle and high school together (though we were in different grade schools), his family moved away to Bend. I hung out with him a few times when our parents would get together, but once college-age hit, he was off in one direction and I was off in another. I hear he lives in Seattle, but I really don't know. It's too bad, I liked him a lot.

3. Do you have a current close friend?

No, not really. The plush Pikachu that I sleep with is probably the closest I've got. It's weird, because while I would consider myself to have "friends" none of them are all that close. You know how you have like tiers of friends, and some are "better" friends than others, to whom you have certain kinds of responsibilities and relationships? And the lower tier friends are still friends but they're the kinds that you can kind of blow off and not really worry about?

All my friends have kind of turned into second-tier friends. Or, rather, I've turned into a second-tier friend for all of them.

4. How did you become friends with this person?

This has occurred through an ongoing process of neglect. Plus I'm just not all that fun to hang out with.

5. Is there a friend from your past that you wish you were still in contact with? Why?

Always. I'm constantly reminiscing about things and people in the past, especially from those halcyon "college days" — I didn't keep in touch with anyone from back then, which I regret terribly.


Well...that's all kind of depressing, isn't it? To lighten the mood, I want you all to picture me in the desert, sitting on this, which I plan to do. Wee!

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing:
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI