image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Isolationism
2003-03-25 � 6:05 p.m.

Hi. My name's Preston. You may think you know me, at least a little bit, but I can assure you that you do not.

Some of the people that frequent this place may have been wondering what happened here over the past several days, where I went. Or perhaps not. Who can tell? The truth of the matter is that I felt the need to withdraw for a time. I get that way sometimes. Unfortunately, my reaction to these urges is often quite violent. Rather than just not update, I excised the means to do so, removing as well the means for anyone to comment upon that fact. In so doing, I pretended to myself that it would be a permanent destruction, even as deep down I knew it would not be. I did other things at the same time that are permanent, and I don't yet know whether or not I regret them. Probably. I'm good at regretting things.

I could go on about the origin or effects of this impulse, but to be completely honest it is ongoing and more than a little unpleasant, so I will not. My apologies for your need to experience it, even at a remove. To those few of you who felt the need to contact me out of concern, curiosity, or whatever, I offer my, um, thanks. I know that I didn't respond, for which I apologize � that's just part of the trip.

You have borne witness to the acts of a desperate man. The fact that these acts themselves are both petty and pathetic is only indicative of the overall state of my being.

I... No, never mind.

It tastes sour.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Placebo, Come Home
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "Give a monkey half a brain and still he's bound to fry it."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI