image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

My Survey Filled Out
2003-03-15 � 3:11 p.m.

Yeah, I made up my own dumb survey. You can find a version of it not filled out here.

Temek's Survey of Doom!

01. Which do you prefer and why for?

���01a. Baths or showers? Don't get me wrong, I like baths just fine, and sometimes I prefer them. But overall, showers. Hot ones.

���01b. Wine, beer, liquor, abstention or other? I have never acquired a taste for wine. Call me an unsophisticated rube if you must, but it's true. Liquor is okay, but I'm going to have to pick beer. Beer is yummy.

���01c. Sweet stuff or salty stuff? Salty.

���01d. Boys, girls or both? Girls, definitely. I can appreciate males, but only intellectually. Girls are yummy. Way yummier than beer. Perhaps this is because girls are salty? I know traditional wisdom would contend that girls are sweet, but... I must investigate this.

���01e. Poetry, fiction or non-fiction? Fiction, definitely. Some non-fiction, but even then I tend towards things like personal essays that have the same kinds of structures as fiction. And because I am addicted to escapist forms of entertainment.

02. Do you consider yourself to be fairly liberal or fairly conservative? Fairly liberal probably, but such things are relative. My political views are amorphous and always changing. I am an inconstant beast.

03. What's the most socially unacceptable thing you've ever done? Oh boy. That's a tricky question, and I should know, because I asked it. For quite some time I was involved in dressing up in costumes that we would call "garb" and attending events where grown men would beat at each other with rattan sticks. But that's only socially unacceptable to some people. Probably the stupidest thing I have ever done, and that even I find morally reprehensible, was to pilot a van full of people down a winding coastal road through the rain at night while both the passengers and myself were under the influence of a large portion of Controlled Substance. The van even had the name and logo of my University on it. Wouldn't that have made a fine headline?

04. What is your primary form of entertainment? Books, and then probably my various computers. I love to read though. Nothing better.

05. If your best friend were asked, they would say...

���05a. That your best quality is? My smarts.

���05b. That your most annoying habit is? My tendency to randomly and repeatedly bark out stupid words and phrases. Even I do not understand this.

���05c. That your biggest mistake was? To constantly discount my own abilities.

06. What was your earliest romantic/sexualized experience? Hmmm. I am told that when I was quite young, perhaps slightly before pre-school age, that a young girl named Jessica was enamored of me, which thing amused both of our parents to the extent that we were constantly thrown together � birthday parties, trips to the movies, etc. � at which events Jessica would take great delight in kissing me, a lot. I remember very little of this, though whenever my parents are reminded of it, they recount the stories with a great deal of glee and many exclamations along the lines of "So cute!"

When I was a little older, I remember that the son of my babysitter of the time flashed a group of us kids while we were all playing in the living room, but that wasn't really sexual at all. I just thought it was gross. I told on him, and he got in big trouble.

No, the first thing that I really remember happened the summer after I was in kindergarten, I believe. We lived several miles out of town, and so didn't really have neighbors as such, but the house that was up the hill from mine was home to a single mother and her daughter, Tracy. Tracy was only a year older than I was, and we often played together. As will happen, our play progressed to the point of discovering what it was that made one of us a boy and the other one a girl. This was loads of fun for us until Tracy's mother entered her room one afternoon to discover us both starkers and buried in a blanket fort.

The interesting thing about it was that we didn't get in trouble. On the contrary, our parents talked it over and decided it was okay. Tracy and I spent the rest of the summer running around together completely unclothed. I believe that there is even photographic evidence of this somewhere.

07. If you had an important item that no one could ever know about, where would you hide it? Locker 112a, Union Station Bus Terminal. I'll leave the key taped to the bottom of one of my desk drawers.

08. Have you ever been in therapy? Did it do you any good, or was it a joke? Of course I have, and sometimes it was good and sometimes it was bad. I was originally in therapy at around fourth grade. Not for emotional or mental health reasons, but because I wouldn't do my homework. Long story, not very fun.

09. What was the last thing you daydreamt about? *blushes* I...I can't say.

10. Can I give you a call this weekend? We could maybe hang out, get a bite to eat. What do you say? Absolutely! Let's hang out. I've been wanting to get to know you a little better...

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Missy Elliot, Gossip Folks
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: I'm...not sure.

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI