image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Blank
2003-03-13 � 7:13 p.m.

Firstly, how sad is it that Andrew has to defend his decisions to remove harassing diaries? Are you not accessing this site (largely) for free? Does he not slave over the site and try his best to make it run under what are, by any stretch of the imagination, huge numbers of heavy users? Is it not obvious that when his users are unhappy, he is unhappy?

Diaryland is not a right. It is a privilege. Yes, even if you pay for it (and I have...more than once, more than twice). Yes, it is reasonable to have certain expectations for freedom of expression within your own diary, but that doesn't automatically equate to carte blanche to do whatever you wish. Diaryland is a community, for better or worse, and the community does have the right to impose standards on its members. In this case Andrew is the filter for our community, being both our de facto leader and a member of the community as well.

Don't like someone's behavior out there in Diaryland? Great. Write about it. That's what Diaryland is for, is it not? You can even rail, rant and curse. No one is going to say that you cannot. But come on people � grow up. Making diaries especially to lambaste other diarists? Spamming their notes pages and guestbooks? That's childish. If you don't like someone's diary, don't go read it. Seems pretty simple to me.

(I recognize that there are degrees here, of course.)

Sheesh. Poor Andrew. I can't believe he still does this. He must be an incredibly decent and patient person, because I would have told the lot of us to go fuck off into the air a long time ago.


I am now going to quote someone else's diary, but I am not going to link to them. Ask me, if you're curious.

"But Hate Solves Nothing, 2003-02-28:

Driving to work today I saw on one side of the street a line of homeless people waiting to get into a shelter for breakfast, and on the other side of the street I saw a line of expensive cars waiting to pull into a parking lot so that the suited people within could ride their quiet elevators to their offices for work. I saw an old man in a wheelchair with one good leg and the other a withered stump sitting at a crosswalk next to a man in shoes that cost several hundred dollars. I saw myself sitting inside my warm car being a passive observer and hated myself.

"Almost as much as I hate the world."

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: the hum of the machine
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary:

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI