image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

NaNoWriMo Update
2002-11-01 � 9:46 p.m.

Well -- Chapter the First of "Lenore" is banged out, and it's okay. The tone at the beginning was nastily Anglicized, but I have a tendency to get pretentious and wordy when I'm unsure of myself. I worked through it though...which means there's a style/tone shift in the first chapter, which is its own kind of problem, but it's one I can live with for now.

I'm actually surprised at myself. Woo hoo! Go me!

I have no idea where it's all going except for in the broadest possible sense, i.e., "I want these kinds of things to happen sometime," and I have some imagery I want to work in there too when it seems appropriate, but hey -- I'm on the path, even if it's not The Path.

I very quickly perused the Forums over at the ol' NaNoWriMo site earlier today, and whoa -- that's some scary stuff. I'm sure that, out of ten thousand people, they can't all be yammering nitwits, but the sample set doesn't really support that conclusion.

I had to restrain myself from becoming a Forum Goon. I really wanted to start a thread about what people's prep for their writing sessions was like. My thought was that I could wait, let a few earnest folk tell their stories of needing to have quiet, be in just the right chair, etc., and then I'd blast in with something wholly gross and inappropriate, like: "I come home from work, make a nice mug of tea, and start up the computer. Then I strip naked and masturbate (you know, to get into that relaxed frame of mind). I drink my tea, and then I start to write -- but I have to be comfortable. I've found that the best wardrobe choice for me if I'm really going to be writing is to be completely naked except for white tube socks, a golden crucifix with a Jesus on it that has garnets for eyes, and a kamikaze Rising Sun bandana."

Heh. I kill me.

So Mr. Gadlfy -- your fans demand an update on your own progress.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: The Standard, Queen and Subject
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: "You always could drink more than me...if you close your eyes, you don't have to see."

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI