image �1999, darrel anderson - www.braid.com

Cut Off!
2002-10-04 � 9:11 a.m.

I am not dead, contrary to rumors and my appearance.

I am, however, mildly cut-off from the glories of the "inter-web." We are in the middle of a DSL service provider switchover at home, and only have dial-up access right now. It's been so long since we were only on dial-up that we have discovered that neither of us owns a modem. Networking hardware out the wazoo (what exactly is a wazoo anyway?), but no analog connection devices. Heh. I don't think I'm going to go buy a modem just so I can check my email for a few days. (The light send it's only a few days -- I already had to withdraw from the Penny-Arcade Moonbase Commander tournament.)

Why are we switching DSL providers, you ask? (Okay, so you didn't -- I can't even imagine why you would care, but I get to write about whatever I want, even if it's boring in the eXtreme.) Well, Speakeasy seemed to want to offer me more bandwidth and a free Xbox, so how could I turn that down? Answer: I couldn't. Plus, even though I've been with Qwest for years, they're still Qwest. The very name makes me shudder. Brutes and hooligans they are.

The upshot of this is that my main 'net access is through werk right now, and I'm still a busy, busy bee here. No time to write diary entries or the emails I have promised certain people. I'm stealing four or five minutes now whilst a particularly lengthy network installation drags on. The end of my manic work behavior is coming to an end, though; I can see light at the end of the tunnel. With a breakthrough at about nine p.m. last night, I can say with a fair amount of certainty that I may be able to finish the lion's share of my remaining tasks this weekend.

Of course, once I do, then what? Boredom sets in. Ah, well. I have projects.

I'll be back as I can.

-t

Currently Aurally Inducing: Rinocerose, La Guitaristic House Organisation
Selection of the Lyrical Vocabulary: n/a

[ last ] [ next ]

Int4rw3b Personals
Gene Wolfe
Image Fix
Again, I Return. (Gonna have to knock this off...)
A Return of Sorts

newest
older
diaryland
contact
guestbook
HL
BVDI